

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

John A. Krings, President
John Benbow, Jr.
Troy Bier
Larry Davis
Sandra K. Hett
Katie Medina
Mary Rayome

April 26, 2021

BOARD REORGANIZATION MEETING

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

TIME: 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Troy Bier, Mary Rayome, Sandra Hett, John Krings, Katie Medina, John Benbow, Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Craig Broeren

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Roll Call

Prior to the reorganization meeting, the Oath of Office was administered by the Board Secretary to recently elected Board members John Benbow, Jr., Katie Bielski-Medina, and Larry Davis.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Troy Bier that Craig Broeren, Superintendent, be appointed temporary chairman of the Board of Education meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Sandra Hett nominated John Krings for the office of President of the Board of Education.

There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier to close nominations for the office of President and a unanimous vote be cast for John Krings to be Board President. Motion carried unanimously.

John Krings resumed control of the meeting as Board President.

Sandra Hett nominated Mary Rayome for the office of Vice President of the Board of Education.

There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier that nominations for Vice President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Mary Rayome as Vice President. Motion carried unanimously.

Katie Medina nominated Larry Davis for the office of Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Katie Medina that nominations for Clerk of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Larry Davis as Clerk. Motion carried unanimously.

Larry Davis nominated Katie Medina for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis that nominations for Treasurer of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Katie Medina as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Troy Bier nominated Maurine Hodgson to be elected as Secretary of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Troy Bier, seconded by Larry Davis that nominations for Secretary be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Maurine Hodgson as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis that the Board of Education continue to operate under the current operational policies, regulations, and by-laws as set forth by the Board of Education. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier that the Board of Education approve the use of the Facsimile Signatures for use in signing School District checks or orders. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by Troy Bier that the Board of Education approve the Resolution Designating Public Depositories and Authorizing Withdrawal of School District monies. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Katie Medina that the Board of Education authorize the administration to use the present Facsimile signature plate for School District checks appropriately drawn. Motion carried unanimously.

President John Krings recommended the following Board Committee appointments:

- 1. John Benbow, Jr. as Chair of the Business Services Committee, with Katie Medina and Troy Bier serving as members.
- 2. Sandra Hett as Chair of the Personnel Services Committee, with Mary Rayome and Larry Davis serving as members.
- 3. Mary Rayome as Chair of the Educational Services Committee, with all seven Board members serving on this committee.

President John Krings recommended other appointments as follows:

- 1. Sandra Hett as the delegate for the CESA 5 annual meeting.
- 2. Troy Bier as the WASB Legislative Representative.
- 3. John Benbow as the WASB Delegate for the WASB Convention in Milwaukee in January 2022, with Troy Bier appointed as the Alternate Delegate.
- 4. Sandra Hett as the Council for Instructional Improvement representative.
- 5. John Benbow as the Trade/Construction Class Project Committee representative.
- 6. Sandra Hett, John Krings, and Mary Rayome as the WRPS/WREA Wage Negotiation Committee representatives.
- 7. Katie Medina as the Student/District Wellness Committee representative.
- 8. John Krings as the Insurance Committee representative.
- 9. Katie Medina and John Benbow as the Lincoln High School Alumni Wall of Fame Selection Committee representatives.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier to approve the recommended appointments. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings announced that Committee meeting times would remain the same in the coming year as follows:

Committee Meeting Times:

- 1. Educational Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Business Services Committee immediately following, but not before 6:15 p.m.
- 3. Personnel Services Committee immediately following, but not before 6:15 p.m.

President Krings stated that the seating arrangement will be as follows: Vice President Mary Rayome seated on the President's right, followed by Troy Bier, Sandra Hett, and the Student Representative. The Superintendent will sit on the President's left, followed by John Benbow, Larry Davis, and Katie Medina.

Superintendent Broeren explained that each Board member is entitled to a District e-mail account, and reminded Board members to be aware of e-mail use in relation to the public records law, walking quorums, and Board policy.

The Board reviewed Policy 164 – Board Member Compensation and Expenses to determine if any changes to the policy would occur. After some discussion on the current version of the policy, the consensus of the Board was that there is no need for changes at the present time.

John Krings adjourned the meeting at 6:20 p.m.

John Krings – President

John a. Mring

Larry Davis - Clerk

Maurine Hodgson - Secretary